-Stage 2.2-


There are 3 main types of faults:

Normal Faults

Reverse Faults

Strike-Slip Faults

Previous Step


Next Step


Normal Faults

Normal Fault

Here are the main parts of a fault:

  • Hanging Wall (H) - The block that rests on top of the fault
  • Foot Wall (F) - The block the lies below the fault
  • These are always the same no matter the direction of fault movement
  • Normal Fault - When the hanging wall moves down and the foot wall moves up
  • Extension - The large arrows on the side show the movement of the blocks. This is when the blocks move away from each other.

Reverse Faults

Reverse Fault

  • Reverse Fault - Pretty much the opposite of a normal fault
  • The hanging wall moves up while the foot wall moves down
  • Compression - The blocks are pushed together
  • Thrust Fault - A reverse fault that is extremely shallow (less than 30°)

Strike-Slip Faults

There are 2 types of strike-slip faults depending on the direction of movement

Strike-Slip Fault - This is when two blocks slide past one another. The San Andreas Fault is a strike-slip fault


Right Lateral

Right Lateral Strike Slip Fault

Right Lateral - Say you were standing on the X, a right lateral is when the opposite block moves right compared to where you were standing

Left Lateral

Left Lateral Strike Slip Fault

Left Lateral - It is the opposite of a right lateral strike slip fault. When you are standing on the X, the opposite block moves to the left.